Apr 13, 2010

Florida Citrus Sports Names President, Annual Award Recipients

Florida Citrus Sports CEO Steve Hogan announced Thursday that Harvey Massey, CEO/Chairman of Massey Services, has earned the not-for-profit’s highest service honor, the Howard Palmer Award.   The award was presented to Massey, a former FCSports chairman and long-time organization trailblazer, during the organization’s annual Member Celebration held at 55 West in Downtown Orlando.  Also at the event, Bright House Networks Vice President of Operations Michel Champagne began his one-year term as FCSports’ president.

The Member Celebration signifies the beginning of the 2010-11 Florida Citrus Sports (FCSports) season with the induction of new leadership and members who have dedicated time and effort to the organization.  The highest honor of the night went to Massey, who served as president (1998-99) and chairman (1999-2000) and has continued to play a vital role in the organization’s development since. Massey’s son, Tony, currently serves on FCSports’ Executive Committee. 

“Harvey was a member of our Executive Committee and had already been involved for a decade when I joined the FCSports staff nearly 15 years ago,” said Hogan.  “We have reached out for Harvey’s help and advice many times over the years and I can’t recall one time when he didn’t answer the call.  That is an impressive level of commitment, not only to Florida Citrus Sports, but our entire community.”

The current president of the Florida Citrus Sports Foundation, Massey has owned and operated Massey Services since February 1985. In 2007, he was recognized by the Orlando Business Journal as one of Orlando’s “Most Influential Citizens” and was appointed by Florida Gov. Charlie Crist to serve on the Orlando-Orange County Expressway Authority board. Massey currently serves on the Board of Directors Wachovia National Bank and is a member of the Corporate Council of the Economic Development Commission.

The prestigious Howard Palmer Award is a tribute to the FCSports member who continually strives to make significant contributions to the organization and its efforts without regard for personal recognition.   Presented since the 1989-90 season, the annual award recognizes a “lifetime” of service to FCSports.  Past honorees include Vernon Hinely, Elmer Cook, George Nahas, Yogi Moore and 2008-09 recipient Bill Dymond of Lowndes Drosdick Doster Kantor & Reed, P.A.

As part of the Member Celebration’s program, new FCSports president Michel Champagne spoke about the year ahead in 2010-11. Champagne has been with Bright House Networks nearly six years now, but has served in a managerial role in the telecommunications industry for over 23 years. A 1984 graduate of Miami (Ohio) University, he serves as a Junior Achievement board member, is on the YMCA Central Florida Development Board and is a member of the CTAM Cable Marketing Association.

With Champagne now installed as president, 2009-10 President Chuck Beverly of RBC Bank will move to chairman, where he will continue to advise on the executive committee and also oversee FCSports’ Team Selection Committee, which chooses and invites the teams for the Capital One Bowl and Champs Sports Bowl each December.  Additionally, L.J. Ruffin & Associates’ Larry Ruffin has been named President-Elect for this year, and will work alongside Champagne, Beverly and the executive committee before stepping into the president’s role for 2011-12. 

In addition to the Howard Palmer Award, FCSports recognized other members who gave superlative efforts during the 2009-10 season.  Will Stewart of PCE Holdings LLC was named Rookie of the Year, Mini-Open Committee Chair Kevin Rinker of Wyndham Worldwide was named Chairman of the Year and John Lazenby of the Colony Realty Group was named Volunteer of the Year. 


Keep up to date with all of the news from Florida Citrus Sports!

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.