Apr 08, 2011

Rich Fildes Honored With 2010 Howard Palmer Award

Richard J.  Fildes, a Partner with Lowndes, Drosdick, Doster, Kantor and Reed, was presented FCSports’ highest service honor, the Howard Palmer Award, at the 2011 Member Celebration.  

Fildes becomes just the 22nd member to earn the award, presented during the annual Florida Citrus Sports Member Celebration held at The MEZZ in Downtown Orlando.  The Member Celebration signifies the beginning of the 2011-12 Florida Citrus Sports (FCSports) season with the induction of new leadership and member awards presentation to those who have dedicated time and effort to the organization.  The highest honor of the night went to Fildes, who served as president (1994-95) and chairman (1995-96) and has since continued to play a vital role in the organization�s development since.

�Rich Fildes has invested decades of his personal time and leadership abilities in Florida Citrus Sports without any regard for personal recognition,� said Hogan.  �A lot of our success as an organization can be directly linked to Rich and the Howard Palmer award is a perfect recognition of his long-standing commitment to FCS.�

Fildes is a 1974 graduate of Duke University and 1977 graduate of the University of Florida College of Law. Admitted to the Florida bar in 1977, he has logged a notable legal career, advising public and private companies on a broad spectrum of matters, including commercial leasing, construction law, corporate and securities, franchising and licensing, hotel and resort development, real estate, development and finance, and sports and entertainment law. For the 11th consecutive year, Fildes was named in 2011 by Orlando Magazine as one of Orlando’s “Best Lawyers� and is a two-time nominee for the American Biographical Institutes� �Man of the Year�.  In addition to his service at Florida Citrus Sports, Fildes is an alumnus of Leadership Orlando and serves on the Duke University Alumni Association of Central Florida.

The prestigious Howard Palmer Award is a tribute to the FCSports member who continually strives to make significant contributions to the organization and its efforts without regard for personal recognition.   Presented since the 1989-90 season, the annual award recognizes a �lifetime� of service to FCSports.  Past honorees include such Orlando notables as Marshall Vermillion, Bill Dymond, and last year�s honoree, Harvey Massey.

Howard Palmer Award Recipients


Rich Fildes  2010
Harvey Massey  2009
Bill Dymond  2008
Marshall Vermillion  2007
Mike Vestal  2006
Pat Bishop  2005
Royce Walden  2004
Simon Snyder  2003
Dennis Braziel  2002
Yogi Moore  2001
George Nahas  2000
Bill Becker  1999
Tommy Thompson  1998
Tom McCoy  1997
Chuck Heard  1996
Garneta Swenson  1995
Jeff Clark  1994
Bob Matheison  1993
Elmer Cook  1992
Vernon Hinely  1991
Debby Sweeney  1990
Tom Quattry  1989


Get Bigtime Updates

Keep up to date with all of the news from Florida Citrus Sports!

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.