Jan 09, 2018

20 former bowl participants selected to 2018 NFL Pro Bowl

The NFL released its Pro Bowl rosters Tuesday, with 20 former Citrus Bowl presented by Overton’s and Camping World Bowl participants among the 86 players selected to appear in the game, which will take place on Jan. 28 at 3 p.m. at Camping World Stadium.

The full list of Florida Citrus Sports bowl alumni on this year’s AFC and NFC rosters can be found in chronological order below:

  • QB Tom Brady (1999 — Michigan, Citrus Bowl)
  • QB Philip Rivers (2000, 2001, 2003 — North Carolina State, Camping World Bowl)
  • C Maurkice Pouncey (2008 — Florida, Citrus Bowl)
  • C Rodney Hudson (2008 — Florida State, Camping World Bowl)
  • DT Geno Atkins (2009 — Georgia, Citrus Bowl)
  • WR A.J. Green (2009 — Georgia, Citrus Bowl)
  • SS Reshad Jones (2009 — Georgia, Citrus Bowl)
  • C Travis Frederick (2009 — Wisconsin, Camping World Bowl)
  • TE Jimmy Graham (2009 — Miami, Camping World Bowl)
  • CB Patrick Peterson (2010 — LSU, Citrus Bowl)
  • QB Russell Wilson (2010 — North Carolina State, Camping World Bowl, MVP)
  • RB Mark Ingram (2011 — Alabama, Citrus Bowl)
  • WR Julio Jones (2011 — Alabama, Citrus Bowl)
  • LB C.J. Mosley (2011 — Alabama, Citrus Bowl)
  • RB Le’Veon Bell (2011 — Michigan State, Citrus Bowl)
  • OG Zack Martin (2011 — Notre Dame, Camping World Bowl)
  • CB Xavier Rhodes (2011 — Florida State, Camping World Bowl)
  • LB Jadeveon Clowney (2012, 2014 — South Carolina, Citrus Bowl)
  • RB Todd Gurley (2013 — Georgia, Citrus Bowl)
  • KR Pharoh Cooper (2014 — South Carolina, Citrus Bowl)

The former bowl participants cover a span of 15 years, ranging from 13-time Pro Bowler, two-time NFL MVP and five-time Super Bowl champion Tom Brady’s appearance in Michigan’s win over Arkansas in the 1999 Citrus Bowl to Pharoh Cooper’s appearance in South Carolina’s win over Wisconsin on New Year’s Day 2014.

The 2017 Pro Bowl, a 20-13 AFC victory, drew a sellout crowd of 60,834 in its first year in Orlando. In addition to the current players on the field, this year’s game will also feature a first-class team of legends captains in Derrick Brooks, Warrick Dunn, Jason Taylor and LaDainian Tomlinson. To buy your tickets to this year’s game, click here.

UPDATE: Brady, Rivers, Green, Graham, Jones, Martin and Clowney were forced to withdraw from the 2018 Pro Bowl due to injury or Super Bowl obligations. However, nine former bowl game participants have been added to the roster as replacements, bringing the total to 22 — or more than 25 percent of the entire Pro Bowl field.

Those players are listed below in chronological order of the bowl appearances:

TE Jason Witten (2002 — Tennessee, Citrus Bowl)
LB Thomas Davis (2004 — Georgia, Citrus Bowl)
OT Andrew Whitworth (2005 — LSU, Citrus Bowl)
K Graham Gano (2008 — Florida State, Camping World Bowl, MVP)
LB Telvin Smith (2011 — Florida State, Camping World Bowl)
S Harrison Smith (2011 — Notre Dame, Camping World Bowl)
DE Melvin Ingram (2012 — South Carolina, Citrus Bowl)
LB Joe Schobert (2014 — Wisconsin, Citrus Bowl)
S Keanu Neal (2016 — Florida, Citrus Bowl)


Keep up to date with all of the news from Florida Citrus Sports!

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.