Jun 20, 2016

Chuck Rohe Presented With Howard Palmer Award

On June 16, Florida Citrus Sports leadership presented former Executive Director Chuck Rohe with the organization’s highest service honor, the Howard Palmer Award. The award was presented as part of the Member Service Awards at the Member Celebration presented by Florida Hospital.

Rohe, who served as the organization’s Executive Director from 1982-2002 is arguably the most instrumental piece in FCSports history as it relates to its evolution the big-time events the company currently hosts. He becomes the 27th recipient of the award, which recognizes a “lifetime” of service to FCSports by an individual.

“Chuck has enjoyed an amazing career in sports and entertainment and establishing Orlando as a major player in the world of neutral-site sporting events is among a long list of his achievements,” said FCSports CEO Steve Hogan.“After more than 30 years invested in Central Florida, Chuck continues to selflessly stay focused on helping Florida Citrus Sports succeed and that is exactly why we are honoring him with the Howard Palmer Award.”

Notable Career Achievements:

  • Moved the bowl’s television contract from Mizlou to NBC in 1984, beginning a 33-year run on national TV
  • Secured the bowl’s first title sponsor in the Florida Citrus Commission, thus changing the name of the game and stadium until Camping World agreed to a naming rights deal in 2016
  • Secured a co-title sponsor for the game with CompUSA from 1994-99
  • Signed an agreement to move the game to ABC and in doing so, made Orlando’s chief bowl game a regular on New Year’s Day
  • Brought numerous neutral-site games to Orlando, including Florida State-Notre Dame in 1994
  • Was a part of establishing the FCSports Foundation, which began as the organization’s charitable arm in 1985
  • Was an ultra-successful track & field coach at the University of Tennessee from 1962-71 with honors including:
    • 21 SEC Championships in Track & Field and Cross Country
    • 15 consecutive Indoor and Outdoor SEC Track & Field Championships 1964 to 1971
    • Six Top-10 NCAA Track & Field finishes
    • Three top-five NCAA finishes in Cross Country
    • Credited with beginning the dual-sport athlete tradition to Tennessee
    • United States Track & Field Coach of the Year, 1967
    • Inducted into the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame, 1995
    • Inducted into the Greater Knoxville Sports Hall of Fame, 2002
    • Inducted into the U.S. Track & Field and Cross-Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Hall of Fame in 2009
    • Helped integrate UT Athletics in 1967, helping three black student-athletes participate in track & field and football
  • Came to the Tangerine Bowl Association after working for Pace Management in Houston, Texas, creating and managing events for the Houston Astrodome

Howard Palmer Award Recipients

2015 Chuck Rohe
2014 Ford Kiene
2013 Paul Kennedy
2012 Charlie Miller
2011 Bill Sullivan
2010 Rich Fildes
2009 Harvey Massey
2008 Bill Dymond
2007 Marshall Vermillion
2006 Mike Vestal
2005 Pat Bishop
2004 Royce Walden
2003 Simon Snyder
2002 Dennis Braziel
2001 Yogi Moore
2000 George Nahas
1999 Bill Becker
1998 Tommy Thompson
1997 Tom McCoy
1996 Chuck Heard
1995 Garneta Swenson
1994 Jeff Clark
1993 Bob Matheison
1992 Elmer Cook
1991 Vernon Hinely
1990 Debby Sweeney


Keep up to date with all of the news from Florida Citrus Sports!

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.